Category Archives: humour

No, Thanks! I’m Quite Happy Standing!

Marie is turning 69 this year, but there are no signs of her slowing down – she has a new male lodger (very into conspiracy theories), an intractable iPhone to wrestle with, and a trip to India to plan! As usual the year brings plenty of challenges as well as opportunities. Marie is burgled, which sends the street into uproar. Ex-husband David is still around and getting rather too close for comfort. Marie’s cat Pouncer is starting to look rather peaky (her conspiracy-theorist lodger is convinced someone is poisoning him), and probably worst of all, it seems her grandson Gene is getting too old to want to hang out with his granny any more. Maybe learning to graffiti and speak street slang will help win him back?

Find a copy on the shelves

Norfolk’s Most Wanted

Great Big Read is our annual reading promotion for adults and runs in all Norfolk Libraries from 20th March – 22nd April. Pick up a leaflet in any library.

This year’s theme is Norfolk’s Most Wanted, our top 20 most popular and in demand books asked for by library customers. Norfolk’s Most Wanted features Crime, Thrillers and Romance, including bestselling books such as ‘The Girl on The Train’ by Paula Hawkins and ‘The Night Manager’ by John Le Carre’.

Browse and reserve our Most Wanted books on the library catalogue  and on Pinterest

Some of the Great Big Read – Norfolk’s Most Wanted titles are available as eBooks. To download an eBook visit the OverDrive eBook catalogue here

Some libraries will be holding events and activities to tie in with Norfolk’s Most Wanted. These include launch events, coffee mornings, book chats and quizzes. For details of these please visit www.norfolk.gov.uk/mostwantedbooks

If you’ve read one of Norfolk’s Most Wanted titles, please write a review and send it to tweetlibraries@norfolk.gov.uk

Did you know that you can rate and review Norfolk’s Most Wanted Books? All you have to do is visit the library catalogue  Log in to your library account. Select your chosen Most Wanted book by clicking on the title and select Add your review. Write a short review and give the book a star rating.

If you loved Adrian Mole…

…This book in translation from the French is recommended just for you!

From a particularly humiliating accident at scout camp, to the final stages of terminal illness, Daniel Pennac’s warm, witty and heart-breaking novel shows the rise and fall of an ordinary man, told through his observations of his own body.

Pennac has always been a funny writer, and one capable of the odd moment of breath-catchingly beautiful insight, too; but more than anything he is simply the most humane of writers, the most generously understanding of his fellow human. In Diary of a Body he has found just one more new, inspired way to show it.

Daniel Hahn – The Guardian.

Reserve a copy.

A dark, funny – sometimes shocking – coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians…

ninaI loved Shappi Khorsandi’s memoir, A beginner’s guide to acting English so much that I can’t wait to read her first novel:

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t? Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all. And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend. But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her. A dark, funny – sometimes shocking – coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians.

Click and collect from any Norfolk library

Turbo twenty-three by Janet Evanovich

Turbo twenty-threeAnother rip roaring tale featuring Stephanie Plum, Morelli, Ranger and the wonderful Lula.

Plenty of action, some scary, some terrifying, some hilarious – does another car go up in smoke? Will Grandma Mazur get a new boyfriend?

As well as the bounty hunting, Stephanie is working for Ranger, is working all that she does for him or not?

It’s an Ice Cream War, 2 factories in the same town, are they at loggerheads or is someone else attacking them for another reason? Stephanie goes undercover to find out. You might feel differently about freezers after reading this. Also watch out for the clown!

To answer all these questions plus more you’ll need to read Turbo Twenty-Three

Eileen

The revolving door of life…

lifeFor seven-year-old Bertie Pollock, life in Edinburgh’s most celebrated fictional street has just got immeasurably better. The enforced absence of his endlessly pushy mother Irene – currently consciousness-raising in a Bedouin harem (don’t ask) – has manifold and immediate blessings: no psychotherapy, no Italian lessons and no yoga classes. Bliss. For Scotland Street’s grown-ups, life throws up some new dilemmas. Matthew makes a discovery that could make him even richer but also leaves him worried. Pat makes one that could make her poorer and her father miserable – unless that uber-narcissist, Bruce, can help her out. And the Duke of Johannesburg, we discover, isn’t exactly who he says he is. From what happens behind Edinburgh Airport’s luggage carousel to Machiavellian manoeuvrings at the Association of Scottish Nudists, Alexander McCall Smith guides us through the brighter, lighter and frankly unexpected side of Edinburgh life.

Reserve a copy of the 9th in this very popular series.

Author of A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian, back with a new book!

Marina Lewycka, best known for A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian, author of several books (including several non-fiction works in conjunction with Age UK) and winner of many awards – now back with a brand new book.

Reserve a copy for just 60p.
lub“North London in the twenty-first century: a place where a son will swiftly adopt an old lady and take her home from hospital to impersonate his dear departed mother, rather than lose the council flat. A time of golden job opportunities, though you might have to dress up as a coffee bean or work as an intern at an undertaker or put up with champagne and posh French dinners while your boss hits on you. A place rich in language – whether it’s Romanian, Ukrainian, Russian, Swahili or buxom housing officers talking managementese. A place where husbands go absent without leave and councillors sacrifice cherry orchards at the altar of new builds. Marina Lewycka is back in this hilarious, farcical, tender novel of modern issues and manners.”

For fans of the The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who…

Fans of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared (or just of books with implausibly long titles) will be delighted to know that Jonas Jonasson is returning with a new book in just a couple of weeks!

Reserve a copy…

 Hitman Anders and the Meaning of it Allanders

“It’s always awkward when five thousand kronor goes missing. When it happens at a certain grotty hotel in south Stockholm, it’s particularly awkward because the money belongs to the hitman currently staying in room seven. Per Persson, the hotel receptionist, just wants to mind his own business, and preferably not get murdered. Johanna Kjellander, temporarily resident in room eight, is a priest without a vocation, and, as of last week, without a parish. But right now she has two things at her disposal: an envelope containing five thousand kronor, and an excellent idea . . .Featuring one violent killer, two shrewd business brains and many crates of Moldovan red wine, Hitman Anders and the Meaning of It All is an outrageously zany story with as many laughs as Jonasson’s multimillion-copy bestseller The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.”

 

New from Sophie Kinsella!

kins

If you asked a hundred librarians what their ‘guilty pleasure’ book is, they’d almost certainly tell you you shouldn’t feel guilty about anything you read… but if you really pressed them, they might just whisper “Sophie Kinsella”.

Becky’s gone too far in the past – but now she’s putting things right. She’s determined to track down her missing dad, help her best friend Suze, bond with her worst enemy Alicia Bitch Long-legs (well – maybe) and work out how to play blackjack. As she discovers quite how much her friends and family need help, she comes up with a brilliant plan. Becky is going to rescue everyone. But can she rescue herself?

Reserve a copy for yourself.

Dead Famous by Ben Elton

Dead famousA witty and at times savage take on the world of reality TV. Peeping Tom productions makes House Arrest (a parody of Big Brother) – with “One house. Ten contestants. Thirty cameras. Forty microphones. One survivor.”

All is progressing well until Day 27 when a murder occurs on screen. Everyone watching sees it happen and yet, despite all the cameras and microphones in the House, the murderer’s identity remains a mystery.

Into this heady mix comes Inspector Stanley Coleridge, a copper of the old school and possibly the only person unaware that such a programme as House Arrest exists.

He struggles to get to grips with modern ways let alone motives and with the world’s attention on him he must somehow unmask the killer before he, or she, strikes again.

Alan

Reserve Dead Famous

%d bloggers like this: