Category Archives: Crime

“…a rising star of Scandinavian crime fiction”

“Kristina Ohlsson is a gritty and intriguing writer, and this new direction and protagonist deliver the start of a thrilling diptych that goes to the darkest depths of society.

How do you vindicate a deceased, self-proclaimed killer? A criminal lawyer in Stockholm, Martin Benner sees himself as a man who has it all. Then Bobby T barges into his office one day, demanding his help…”

Read more…

Have you met the Morse of Istanbul?

THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, ‘the Morse of Istanbul’ ( Daily Telegraph ) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon!

Everyone in the Istanbul neighbourhood of Moda knows the Devil’s House. A crumbling Ottoman mansion, and once the home of a princess, it is a place associated with ill fortune. The princess’s four children, now in old age, still live in separate apartments on different floors and are rumoured never to speak to each other. Then one of them is found dead, stabbed through the heart, and it is discovered that the other three siblings have met an identical fate. There is no sign of forced entry or burglary, and all evidence must be gained from letters and diaries, but as Inspector Ikmen digs into their past it becomes clear they have been harbouring a secret…

Coming soon: reserve a copy

There’s a new case for the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency…

“One bright morning, Precious Ramotswe – head of Botswana’s No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency – receives a visitor: a woman from Australia. This woman asks Precious to take on a case: to find the nursemaid who raised her during her childhood in Botswana. The woman wants to thank her for being such an important part of her life.

Precious has a history of successfully solving cases, but this one proves difficult and throws up a number of surprises and challenges… Precious and Grace is a story about being a detective, the complexities of human nature, as well as lessons about gratitude and obligation.”

Pick up a copy in a library near you…

A Banquet of Consequences by Elizabeth George

What a mixed up family are at the heart of this, the latest Inspector Lynley and Barbara Havers novel. Ably assisted by Winston Nkata.

It all starts with the suicide of William Goldacre, devastating to those left behind. Why did he do it, nobody really knows or if they do they’re not saying.

A couple of years later we have a murder (or do we) in Cambridge, bestselling feminist writer Clare Abbott. Her personal assistant is Caroline Goldacre, William’s mother.

Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself, and she is convinced there is a connection. She badgers Lynley into getting her on the case, which he does.

This is a novel of deeply hidden secrets, distorted truths, sexual complications, madness and much more.

Some of it is a bit convoluted and could maybe have been shortened. Interesting murder weapon.

As usual with Elizabeth George it is well written, the characters come to life in the reading of it and their interaction adds to the story.

Eileen

Reserve A Banquet of Consequences

New from the author of Apple Tree Yard

“John Harper lies awake at night in an isolated hut on an Indonesian island, listening to the rain on the roof and believing his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of something he’s already done.In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own troubled history. They begin an affair – but can he allow himself to get involved when he knows this might put her at risk? Moving between Europe during the cold war, California and the Civil Rights struggle, and Indonesia during the massacres of 1965 and the decades of military dictatorship that follow, Black Water is an epic novel that explores some of the darkest events of recent world history through the story of one troubled man.”

Find a copy on the catalogue

A new Jack Reacher thriller!

New out in paperback from Norfolk favourite Lee Child:

“In the morning, they gave Reacher a medal. And in the afternoon, they sent him back to school.Night School takes Reacher back to his army days, but this time he’s not in uniform. With trusted sergeant Frances Neagley at his side, he must carry the fate of the world on his shoulders, in a wired, fiendishly clever new adventure that will make the cold sweat trickle down your spine…”

Join the waiting list.

New from the winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel:

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.

The murder was meant as a punishment – but what sin could justify the method? The only person who might have answers is the victim’s seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she’s not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children’s House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn’t best pleased. But she’s determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He’s telling a dark and secret story – but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Get your name on the waiting list…

Norfolk’s Most Wanted

Great Big Read is our annual reading promotion for adults and runs in all Norfolk Libraries from 20th March – 22nd April. Pick up a leaflet in any library.

This year’s theme is Norfolk’s Most Wanted, our top 20 most popular and in demand books asked for by library customers. Norfolk’s Most Wanted features Crime, Thrillers and Romance, including bestselling books such as ‘The Girl on The Train’ by Paula Hawkins and ‘The Night Manager’ by John Le Carre’.

Browse and reserve our Most Wanted books on the library catalogue  and on Pinterest

Some of the Great Big Read – Norfolk’s Most Wanted titles are available as eBooks. To download an eBook visit the OverDrive eBook catalogue here

Some libraries will be holding events and activities to tie in with Norfolk’s Most Wanted. These include launch events, coffee mornings, book chats and quizzes. For details of these please visit www.norfolk.gov.uk/mostwantedbooks

If you’ve read one of Norfolk’s Most Wanted titles, please write a review and send it to tweetlibraries@norfolk.gov.uk

Did you know that you can rate and review Norfolk’s Most Wanted Books? All you have to do is visit the library catalogue  Log in to your library account. Select your chosen Most Wanted book by clicking on the title and select Add your review. Write a short review and give the book a star rating.

Weirdo by Cathi Unsworth

I found this ‘cover introduction’ – and title ideal, to ‘sum up’ -a most enjoyable and ultimately exciting read.

The context of this book captivated me, not only the events of the earlier time zone-centering around a time passage that i consider to be the ‘golden years’, of my adolescence (plus some). This being the early to mid (ish) eighties-highlighting the music of some of my continuing favourite bands. Primarily my favourite band Echo & the Bunnymen which i ascertain are high on the list of the author’s favourites.

I enjoyed the way the author used the titles of some songs, to add to the increasingly mysterious and atmospheric, chapter titles. Also referencing songs by Public Image, Patti Smith, and two of my favourites Killing Joke and the Cult. All expertly married up with references to my current location Great Yarmouth (Eremouth in the story).

On my own journey through the narrative, i became so enthralled that i found it necessary to make fairly in-depth notes of various characters. To hopefully provide me with any required ‘whodunnit’ investigative skills, for my conclusions at the finale of the tale. Inevitably i was ‘well off the mark’, with the realisation that i’m no ‘Inspector Morse’.

I would strongly recommend this book to all parties – not just budding ‘Private  Eyes’.

Mark

Reserve Weirdo

“A wonderfully punchy evocation of a legendary murder mystery, packed with the authentic sights, sounds and intrigues of Glasgow in the late Fifties.”

longWilliam Watt wants answers about his family’s murder. Peter Manuel has them. But Peter Manuel is a liar.William Watt is an ordinary businessman, a fool, a social climber.Peter Manuel is a famous liar, a rapist, a criminal. He claims he can get hold of the gun used to murder Watt’s family.One December night in 1957, Watt meets Manuel in a Glasgow bar to find out what he knows.Based on true events, The Long Drop is an extraordinarily unsettling, evocative and compelling novel from a writer at the height of her powers.

Reserve a copy of the brand-new hardback

%d bloggers like this: