The truth about the Harry Quebert affair by Joel Dicker

harr qI have to preface this review by saying that this book has sold millions of copies all around the world, been translated into several languages; and the ebook version I read opened with nearly 10 pages of enthusiastic praise from literary critics from many countries.

That said, I hated it. I found it to be confusing, boring and morally questionable. I expected a more nuanced, philosophical book, but this was a straight cold-case crime investigation.

I kept reading it hoping it would improve, but 400 pages later I could only conclude it did not. If I could somehow claim back from the author the time spent reading it, I would.

Reserve a copy here (and come to your own conclusions!)

Elena

Write your review or comment here.

