Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

9781848664159Only Ever Yours has just won the first ever Young Adult Book Prize, and it’s very easy to see why. This is a book that gets under your skin and lodges firmly in your heart. It’s not an easy read in places, bad things happen to well-liked characters, and the whole book is set in a very grim dystopian world.

It is really excellent on how it feels to be a teenage girl. It’s nearly 20 years since I was the age of the central character in this book, but after reading this it feels like it could have been yesterday. And, in a strange way, I think I feel different – more kindly- towards the girl I was, than I did before I read this.

If I had a teenage daughter, I would be buying her a copy. I shall certainly buy one for my niece (but she’s only just turned 12, so I will keep it to one side for a year or two).

Elena

Reserve a copy here.

2 responses

  1. I adore that book so much! It is truly amazing.

    Like

  2. I kind of love that title!

    Like

Write your review or comment here.

