Apryl’s Top Five Books of 2014

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – it may have taken me six months (on and off!) to finish, but it was a wonderful journey and I fell completely in love with Theo Decker.

We Were Liars by E Lockhart and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: I read a lot of YA fiction in 2014 but these two were two of the very best.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler: a memoir by one of my favourite American comedians, this was book was highly anticipated for me- I waited all year for it to be published and it didn’t disappoint! I finished it in 48 hours.Yes Please

The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P by Adelle Waldman: a brilliant debut by this writer, protagonist Nate is bizarrely likeable and unlikeable in equal measures and I loved reading about his life as a writer in Brooklyn.

As an extra, I am not usually a fan of crime fiction but was I surprisingly taken by Gillian Flynn and subsequently read all three of her novels (Dark Places, Sharp Objects & Gone Girl) after giving in to the best-seller hype!

Apryl

Write your review or comment here.

