Elena’s top books of 2014

I tried to whittle my list down to just a top ten, but I couldn’t do it. So here’s my top 14 books of 2014! I read a lot more books published this year than I normally get around to, so my list has more of the 2014 big hitters than I would have expected it to. There’s some non-fiction; poetry and young adult books get a look in too.

The Goldfinch – if I had to pick a single book of the year, this would be it.

Americanah – difficult to sum up, this is a magnificent book.

MaddAddam – a fitting end to the brilliant Oryx and Crake trilogy. Well worth waiting for!

Flight Behaviour – A wonderful return from Barbara Kingsolver. I adore her books.

Bone Clocks – bonkers yet brilliant complicated fiction from David Mitchell.

A girl is a Half-formed Thing – brutal, distressing, hard to read and outstanding.

The Martian – The best page-turner of the year, a cracking space-set thriller.

Shadow and Bone – Book One in a fabulous Young Adult trilogy which gets better and better! This deserves to be the next Hunger Games, the films are already in the works.

Orlando – I’m trying to get around to all those classics one ‘ought’ to read – I didn’t expect any of them to be this much fun! What a wonderful book.

All the birds, singing – A book that toys with all your expectations to deliver a fine and ambiguous read.

Spillover – Everything you’ve ever wanted to know about infectious diseases which spread to humans from other animals. A fantastic read, scientific yet accessible. Although written before the current Ebola outbreak, it will teach you a lot about that virus.

Incognito – A mind-altering book about the subconscious. Wonderfully thought-provoking non-fiction.

The history of the world – the first time I’ve willingly picked up a book on history since I left school. Impressive and maybe even enjoyable!

Unincorporated persons in the late Honda dynasty – Simply the best book of poetry I have read in a very long time. Outstanding.

Write your review or comment here.

