Seldom Seen by Sarah Ridgard

seldomSeldom Seen is a little gem of a book set in rural Suffolk (with a brief visit to Norfolk) in the 1980s, not far in time and place from where I was growing up just over the border in Essex, so the book felt very familiar to me.

It tells the story of Desiree White, an awkward teenager, who hides in ditches and knows lots of secrets about her community. She discovers a baby thrown in the ditch wrapped in newspaper, which sets of a chain of events disrupting her, her family and friends, and her community. It felt a very fresh, original read, and I loved the descriptions and the sense of unease at some of the things that happen in a small community.

My only problem – which is a problem for me rather than the book – is that I’m so busy at the moment I haven’t been able to read as much as I usually do, and I think I would have engaged with the book a lot better had I been able to read at my normal pace. But still a solid read.

Jo

Request Seldom Seen

Write your review or comment here.

