Longbourn by Jo Baker

I’m a sucker for good opening lines or book blurbs and from the instant I saw Longbourn’s I knew I’d want to read it:

Longbourn“If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah thought, she would be more careful not to trudge through muddy fields”

The book is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice from the point of view of the servants, and all of them have a story to tell.

Now for the confession – I’ve never read (or watched an adaptation of) the original book…

But I think that Baker’s genius is that it didn’t matter, the ‘new’ characters are so well written with their believable story lines that the novel stood as an independent work. I’m almost tempted to say that not knowing the original might have improved my experience as I wasn’t thinking “oooo it didn’t happen like that in the original”, I was simply being swept along in a great piece of fiction.

This does mean I can’t comment if the actions of the characters are in keeping with the original and I’d love to hear from people who have read this and the original just to see if it does ‘fit’.

Sarah

Request a copy here

Write your review or comment here.

