The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

cuckoo

Here, this Galbraith chappie can write, eh? Oh, wait…

I confess that I heard the news break one Sunday morning and straightaway went on the library catalogue to reserve my copy .

I loved the Harry Potter series and I have every intention of reading everything she writes (except I haven’t got around to the Casual Vacancy yet), so although I don’t read
much crime (I’m not the kind of crime-connoisseur other reviewers on this blog are!) I was interested to see what I made of this one. It was brilliant! It’s the kind of book that made me resent every second I wasn’t reading it. I hated leaving the house; I could feel it calling me all through the working day; I certainly didn’t eat any meals without it firmly clenched in my other hand. The characters struck me as wonderfully fully-formed, the mystery managed to seem contemporary and believable yet to chime with the traditional Agatha Christie style of British crime novel.

The London setting works well and the whole thing is satisfyingly wrapped up at the end… I can’t wait to see what Cormoran and Robin do in their next book.

Elena

Reserve your copy here. 

2 responses

  1. […] funny and even hopeful; Diving Belles by Lucy Wood- a magical collection of short stories;  The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith- J K Rowling’s crime debut under an assumed name; The marrying of Chani Kaufmann by Eve […]

    Like

  2. I recently reviewed this one. it’s funny that one person’s “traditional British crime novel” can be another person’s cliched cheesiness. it would of course be a very boring world if we were all the same. I can recommend A Casual Vacancy, though.

    Like

Write your review or comment here.

