Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Originally titled A Song of Ice and Fire, this book has been re-titled Game of Thrones due to the popularity of the TV adaptation.

thrones

I read quite a bit of fantasy & sci-fi, but I had been putting off reading the Thrones books, despite them being absolutely everywhere. I guess the size of them might have put me off, to be honest. Eventually a  fellow librarian grabbed me by my metaphorical spectacle-chain and refused to let go until I promised to read them, so I had to give them a go.

I found a bold and immense tale of kings, lords, treachery and war. The pace and complexity of the story-telling never once  faltered over the 800+ pages. The setting is suitably huge and convincing, the characters fully-formed and engaging and the plot suitably epic.

Who would I recommend it to? Readers of Wolf Hall, looking for another chunky and involving read, perhaps? Certainly readers of the great fantasy series of David Eddings and Robin Hobb.

Tempted?
Reserve your copy here.

One response

  1. […] A song of Ice and fire by George R R Martin  […]

    Like

Write your review or comment here.

