The generation game by Sophie Duffy

The Generation Game was flagged up to me as a recommendation based on previous books I have read, but I have to admit, when it turned up, I wondered whether it would be a little too ‘chick lit’ for me (perhaps that was the Katie Fforde review on the front cover!) But then I was just in the mood for a light and easy read, and there it was, sitting at the top of my book pile. So I reached for it….

It tells the story of Philippa Smith, a woman in her 40s who has just had a baby and been left by her husband. So she goes back to the beginning and tells her baby the story of her life, how she came to this point, the difficult and unusual childhood she lived through, the childhood abandonment by her mother, and who the baby’s father is.

The book is beautifully written, with a unique relaxed style, and Sophie Duffy has created some wonderful and loveable characters. She tells a sad story in a funny and somewhat quirky manner, and it was a book I really lost myself in. It would make a brilliant holiday read, and underneath that light, funny story is a sad little tale, with a couple of twists at the end. It’s an utterly charming little book with a big heart that had me both laughing out loud and nursing a few tears, and it was a wonderful nostalgia trip for me, through the Blue Peter and Generation Game years of my youth. I did, in fact, love it!

Jo

Request a copy here

3 responses

  1. Reblogged this on sophieduffy and commented:
    Lovely review of The Generation Game

    Like

  2. Thank you for the lovely review. I’m so happy you enjoyed the book.

    best wishes, Sophie

    Like

  3. […] The generation game by Sophie Duffy. […]

    Like

Write your review or comment here.

