Fifty shades of Grey by E L James

Everyone is talking about this book! Reaching No 1 in the Top 100 bestsellers, I even found the ladies from Slimming World were having a real good conversation over this novel.

Fifty Shades of Grey is the first of a trilogy, the story is based around Ana who has recently graduated and looking for employment in publishing and Christian Grey who so happens to be very wealthy, extremely good looking but as the story unfolds has a few issues and a very dark side!

Not my usual read but curiosity got me on this one and I wanted to know what all the fuss was about.

Helen

Request a copy here

I have now read this and am on the second volume, Fifty shades darker. There is characterisation and plot. I found it an enjoyable read.

Essentially, it is a romance with sex, er, lots of sex in fact. Written after E L James was inspired by the Twilight books, I now understand why it has been called Fan fiction as the leads are reminiscent of Edward and Bella and the plot is developing in a similar vein.

I listened to her interview on Women’s hour and I now understand why the publicity came through the media and not the book trade, she has worked as a production person at the BBC all her life.

Have I an inner goddess I wonder? If I have she doesn’t say much!

Elaine

Request a copy here

Write your review or comment here.

