Carte Blanche by Jeffrey Deaver

I’ve always been a bit of a Bond fan. I loved the books as a teenager and have many happy memories of watching the films every boxing day with my granddad- so I’m very happy that Ian Fleming Publications Ltd is commissioning authors to write new 007 books.

I was very disappointed by the Sebastian Faulks effort a year or two ago- it read like a pastiche and didn’t do the Fleming books justice- so I had mixed feelings on picking up Carte Blanche. I needn’t have worried.

Deaver has written a cracking thriller, absolutely true to the tradition with a note-perfect Bond, chilling villains and exotic settings. I devoured the book in two days and terribly resented having to put it down to eat or sleep or leave the house.

Reserve your copy here.

Write your review or comment here.

