Our tragic universe by Scarlett Thomas

I find it hard not to feel short-changed when reading a book whose main character is a writer who is trying to work out what to write about. Especially so when that character then decides that a way around her dilemma would be to write a book whose main character is a a writer who can’t work out what to write about.

I’d wanted to read something by this author for a while, mostly because the covers of her books are so different. I think I picked the wrong one! I’d happily read another of her books, because there were real moments of brilliance in this one- it was just the wrong book at the wrong time for me.

I’d love to hear from someone who liked it, because I think it had some real strengths. I also have a sneaking feeling it was a very clever book playing with metafiction and I just didn’t get it…

Reserve a copy here.

Write your review or comment here.

