Half blood blues by Esi Edugyan

The timescale is from the 30’s to the 90’s and is set mostly in Germany and the USA. The background is the developing jazz and blues music scene set against the growing threat of Nazism and its aftermath. One of its main themes is about people being true to who they are and living with the consequences.The first few pages put me off because it is written in an idiosyncratic style using non-standard  grammar as the narrator’s “voice”. BUT after a few more pages I was into the flow of the language and stayed up most of one night to finish the book. In my opinion it is certainly well worth reading and the best Booker offering I have read.
 
Attleborough Reading Group
 
One response

  1. I loved this! I thought I knew the characters – right up until the last minute when it all changed. I thought it was a sad, moving and brilliantly told story. Plus, it was about a little sliver of jazz/WWII history I didn’t really know about, which was a bonus.

    Like

Write your review or comment here.

