Me before You by Jojo Moyes

A magnificent and moving love story with a surprising extra dimension. The author has bravely set out to include subjects not usually broached in romantic novels: disability and the morality of euthanasia.

The book is strikingly successful, with characters who pull you deep into the story and who you’ll feel real empathy for.

Surprisingly, for a book covering such difficult topics, the only parts which come across as slightly clumsy are the those relating to class. The ‘working class family’ seem slightly clichéd- I’m not sure anyone has scrubbed their front steps since about 1970- but I was prepared to forgive this as the book is otherwise excellent, with a perfectly judged ending.

Reserve a copy here.

3 responses

  1. […] picked this book up after so enjoying Me before You, wanting to read more from this […]

    Like

  2. […] read this after being first introduced to this writer’s work with ‘Me before you’, and I have to say I enjoyed this just as much.  I liked the build up of suspense, the setting, […]

    Like

  3. Dersingham Reader | Reply

    Jojo Moyes – Me before you
    Wow – we just read this at our Dersingham book club and those who’d read it, loved it. Those who hadn’t (basically because they were put off by the cover!) are now GOING to read it. My sister recommended it to me, and I’m so glad she did. By the end of the book, I was reading through a haze of tears. I’ve just requested Foreign Fruit and Night Music. I do hope they are as good!
    Alison

    Like

Write your review or comment here.

