Portnoy’s Complaint by Philip Roth

I picked this book up from Norwich and Norfolk Millennium Library‘s banned book stand, and I can see why it made it onto the banned book list. Not for the faint-hearted, this book is extremely sexually explicit. That said, this is one of the funniest books I’ve ever read and had me sniggering into my tea throughout. The whole book is a monologue from the point of view of a young Jewish man speaking to his therapist (who might not in fact exist) about his terrible relationships and sexual compulsions and whether it’s all the fault of his mother.

It did raise questions about stereotypes and racism for me, I wasn’t sure it was ok to be laughing about some of the things I was laughing at.

 So, arguably racist, sexist, disgusting in places and absolutely hilarious. You have been warned!

Reserve a copy here.

One response

Write your review or comment here.

