Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Oryx and CrakePeople have been telling me for several years that I ought to read this book. I enjoy Margaret Atwood’s books and I really like dystopian novels, so I’m not sure why I never got around to picking it up.

Picking my holiday reading, I found this on the shelf and decided that it was time I read it.

I loved it! It’s an amazing book: funny, immensely sad, thought-provoking and like nothing else I’ve read. There’s scarcely a topic that she doesn’t manage to squeeze in: climate change, GM foods and medicine, child abuse; every moral issue you’d find if you opened any newspaper on any given day.

But the book is never dry or lecturing: it’s warm, dark and juicy. Great to get your teeth into. I’m really looking forward to picking up the sequel.

Reserve a copy here.

2 responses

  1. This book tackles some of the darker elements of the Internet among a myriad of other things. It did this well and I think many more writers should follow the example.

    Like

Write your review or comment here.

