OUT TODAY! The brilliant new book from Andy Weir, author of The Martian.

She grew up on the moon, of course she has a dark side. Jazz Bashara is a criminal. Well, sort of. Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you’re not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire. So smuggling in the occasional harmless bit of contraband barely counts, right? Not when you’ve got debts to pay and your job as a porter barely covers the rent. Everything changes when Jazz sees the chance to commit the perfect crime, with a reward too lucrative to turn down. But pulling off the impossible is just the start of Jazz’s problems, as she learns that she’s stepped square into a conspiracy for control of Artemis itself – and that now, her only chance at survival lies in a gambit even more unlikely than the first.

Join the waiting list here

Advertisements

Wintry Icelandic crime- perfect for the dark evenings.

“Two days before Christmas, a young woman is found dead beneath the cliffs of the deserted village of Kalfshamarvik. Did she jump, or did something more sinister take place beneath the lighthouse and the abandoned old house on the remote rocky outcrop? With winter closing in and the snow falling relentlessly, Ari Thor Arason discovers that the victim’s mother and young sister also lost their lives in this same spot, twenty-five years earlier. As the dark history and its secrets of the village are unveiled, and the death toll begins to rise, the Siglufjordur detectives must race against the clock to find the killer, before another tragedy takes place.”

Entirely sure footed, propulsive, the work of a master at his very best…

“…The brilliance of Moonglow stands as a strident defence of the form itself, a bravura demonstration of the endless mutability and versatility of the novel”-Observer

Moonglow‘ unfolds as a deathbed confession. An old man, his tongue loosened by powerful painkillers, his memory stirred by the imminence of death, tells stories to his grandson, uncovering bits and pieces of a history long buried. Why did he try to strangle a former business partner with a telephone cord? What was he thinking when he and a buddy set explosives on a bridge in Washington, D.C.? What did he feel while he hunted down Wernher von Braun in Germany? And what did he see in the young girl he met in Baltimore after returning home from the war?

Reserve a copy to your closest library for only 60p

Get a taste for award-winning Sci-fi in this short story collection.

Cixin Liu is China’s bestselling science fiction author and one of the most important voices in world SF. His novel, ‘The Three-Body Problem’, was the first translated work of SF ever to win the Hugo Award. Here is the first collection of his short fiction: eleven stories, including five Chinese Galaxy Award-winners, form a blazingly original ode to planet earth, its pasts and its futures.

Discover this collection.

‘Wise, warm, compassionate and full of characters I loved … it’s like having a great gossip with your best friends’ – Marian Keyes

A family gathering, a moment of celebration, a time to come together – and fall apart… Recently married Bess should be blissfully happy, but as she plans a party for her husband, the cracks are beginning to show. Jojo, Bess’s stepdaughter, has a point to make: Bess has swept into her father’s life but she won’t ever replace Jojo’s late beloved mother. Cousin Cari is a strong career-woman who isn’t unnerved by anything – apart from facing the man who left her at the altar – and he’s on the guest list. As the party brings them all together, can the Brannigans discover the secrets of a happy marriage before it is too late?

New from the queen of atmospheric chillers…

 The Himalayas, 1935. Kangchenjunga. Third-highest peak on Earth. Greatest killer of them all. Five Englishmen set off from Darjeeling, determined to conquer the sacred summit. But courage can only take them so far – and the mountain is not their only foe. As the wind dies, the dread grows. Mountain sickness. The horrors of extreme altitude. A past that will not stay buried. And sometimes, the truth does not set you free.

 

Reserve a copy

New out from Peter James, the new Detective Roy Grace book

Lorna Belling, desperate to escape her marriage from hell, falls for the charms of another man who promises her the earth. But, as Lorna finds, life seldom follows the plans you’ve made. A chance photograph on a client’s mobile phone changes everything for her. When the body of a woman is found in a bath in Brighton, Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is called to the scene. At first it looks an open and shut case with a clear prime suspect. Then other scenarios begin to present themselves, each of them tantalizingly plausible, until, in a sudden turn of events, and to his utter disbelief, the case turns more sinister than Grace could ever have imagined.

Find a copy in a Norfolk Library.

New out and enchanting…

‘Frost-demons have no interest in mortal girls wed to mortal men. In the stories, they only come for the wild maiden.’ In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church. But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods… Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman.

Reserve a copy.

An award-winning book that is already making a place for itself on one librarian’s books of the year list…

Effia and Esi: two sisters with two very different destinies. One sold into slavery; one a slave trader’s wife. The consequences of their fate reverberate through the generations that follow. Taking us from the Gold Coast of Africa to the cotton-picking plantations of Mississippi; from the missionary schools of Ghana to the dive bars of Harlem, spanning three continents and seven generations, Yaa Gyasi has written a miraculous novel – the intimate, gripping story of a brilliantly vivid cast of characters and through their lives the very story of America itself.

Reserve a copy.

There’s never a dull moment in the Butler family and when Vinny starts to receive mysterious packages, it can only mean one thing…

There’s never a dull moment in the Butler family and when Vinny starts to receive mysterious packages containing dead creatures, it can only mean one thing. someone is out for blood. For a long time, Vinny Butler and Eddie Mitchell ruled their manors from a respectful distance. Now they’re doing business together and their family has just been united in a way they never expected. But after one murder too many things start to unravel. The past comes back to haunt both families, and it will be the downfall of one of them. Will it be the Mitchells or the Butlers who get what’s coming to them? Who is the backstabber?

Find a copy in a Norfolk Library.

%d bloggers like this: